Quick Links


The Central European Initiative (CEI) is a regional intergovernmental forum committed to supporting European integration through cooperation between and among its Member States and with the European Union (EU), other interested public institutions or private and non-governmental organisations (NGOs), as well as international and regional organisations. In order to offer a solid contribution to European integration, the CEI combines multilateral diplomacy and project management, both as donor and recipient, while also bridging European macro-regions.

What are Cooperation Activities?
Cooperation Activities are projects of small scale and limited duration, which mainly take the form of seminars, workshops, short training courses or other kind of meetings. They are financed out of the CEI Cooperation Fund to which all Member States contribute, through annual calls for proposals.

Key Priorities for Area of Cooperation - CEI Agenda for 2014-16

1. Towards a Knowledge-based Society
Research and Innovation
Life-long Education and Training
Information Society
2. Towards a Sustainable Economy and Development
Transport, Logistics and Accessibility
Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
Climate, Environment and Rural Development
SMEs and Business Development
3. Towards an Inclusive Society
Intercultural Cooperation
Civil Society

Location of the Activities
CEI Cooperation Activities must take place in CEI Member States. CEI Member States are: Italy, Austria, Czech Republic, Poland, Belarus, Ukraine, Moldova, Romania, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Albania, Montenegro, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Hungary, Slovenia and Slovakia.

Related documentation

Call for Proposals

CEI Plan of Action 2014-2016